News: Cexx forums, with volunteers dedicated to helping you remove malware and stay protected
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
May 25, 2013, 02:16:43
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Topic: Holiday e-card SPAM  (Read 1150 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
« on: December 05, 2007, 04:20:52 »
AplusWebMaster Offline
Global Moderator WWW

Karma: 501
Posts: 7328



FYI...

- http://www.informationweek.com/shared/printableArticle.jhtml?articleID=204700531
Dec. 4, 2007 - "...Message Labs said following Thanksgiving that it was seeing holiday-themed spam coming across its infrastructure at a rate of about 300,000 an hour. Symantec security researcher Jitender Sarda documented* one such attack on Tuesday that uses e-cards. "These e-cards are purportedly sent from a legitimate source and try to lure the victim to click on the link to view the e-cards, which have underlying tricks to try and infect the computer," said Sarda in a blog post. "With the Xmas bells starting to ring, here is the first incidence where Xmas e-cards have started doing the rounds." While these e-cards may appear to come from a familiar brand name, the "From:" field is forged. And the spammer responsible, perhaps aware that e-cards have acquired an air of disrepute, has even gone so far as to include the phrase "(no worm, no virus)" in the e-card's text, as if such an assurance made the message safe. In fact, the link provided attempts to download a file named "sos385.tmp" which is itself a downloader that connects to the Internet and attempts to download other malicious files."
* http://preview.tinyurl.com/2u5z7n
(Symantec Security Response Weblog)
--------------------------------------------------

More Christmas Card Action
- http://www.f-secure.com/weblog/archives/00001330.html
December 5, 2007 - "We've just seen another fake Christmas card malware run... The links are masked and point to a fake Yahoo Greeting card site. Do note the fake URL (abuse messages have been sent about the site)... The site prompts the user to download malicious macromedia-flashplayerupdate.exe (md5: 506744BF870B5B0E410087BD6F3EFD37). We detect this file as an Agent variant. It collects various types of information from the infected machine and sends it back to the malware author via a website."

(Screenshots available at the F-secure URL above.)

 Shocked
« Last Edit: December 05, 2007, 09:02:48 by AplusWebMaster » Logged

This machine has no brain.
....... Use your own.
Browser check for updates here.
.
 
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Page created in 0.231 seconds with 20 queries.