News: Cexx forums, with volunteers dedicated to helping you remove malware and stay protected
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
May 23, 2013, 05:58:08
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Topic: Malicious .SWF banner ads - Expedia.com and Rhapsody.com  (Read 1479 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
« on: January 30, 2008, 03:22:24 »
AplusWebMaster Offline
Global Moderator WWW

Karma: 501
Posts: 7324



FYI...

- http://blog.trendmicro.com/malicious-banners-target-expediacom-and-rhapsodycom/
January 29, 2008 - "... Earlier this month, we’ve seen malicious banner ads being served on popular Web sites, such as Myspace, Excite, and Blick. This time, TrendLabs was alerted to malicious banner ads infiltrating legitimate special interest Web sites such as Expedia.com and Rhapsody.com. According to Trend Micro security experts, certain malicious .SWF banners have managed to work their way into Expedia.com, a popular site for travel enthusiasts worldwide. Trend Micro detects this particular malicious flash banner as SWF_ADHIJACK.A. Based on initial analysis, clicking on this ad leads to several redirections, which eventually results to the installation of a rogue antispyware (detected as TROJ_GIDA.A). Music lovers are also targeted by malware-laden .SWF banners at Rhapsody.com, a music site owned by RealNetworks, which was also found to be employing malicious flash banners. The malicious .SWF URL found in Rhapsody.com is said to be similar to the notorious Skyauction advertisements that were also found to infiltrate the Blick website...
Hat-tip: Spyware Sucks - http://msmvps.com/blogs/spywaresucks/archive/2008/01/28/1483997.aspx "

 Evil or Very Mad
Logged

This machine has no brain.
....... Use your own.
Browser check for updates here.
.
 
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Page created in 0.362 seconds with 20 queries.